Paypal Email Scam
First there was the Ebay Email Scam, and now we have the PayPal email scam. This one’s even better than the last one, quite convincing.
It’s official looking, uses company logos and company lingo, doesn’t contain spelling and grammatical errors, and generally does a good job. The website it takes you to, obviously, is not PayPal. It goes to:
http://3530955320/paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/index.php
Which is an invalid URL. Maybe Firefox or Yahoo! Mail is filtering some of it out?
Btw, Yahoo Mail correctly marked this as spam.
Here’s the email in text and image form for viewing pleasure.
Dear valued PayPal® member:
It has come to our attention that your PayPal®
account information needs to be updated as part of our continuing
commitment to protect your account and to reduce the instance of fraud
on our website. If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into any future problems with the online service.
However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension.
Once you have updated your account records, your PayPal® session will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.
To update your PayPal® records click on the following link:
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run
Thank You.
PayPal® UPDATE TEAM
Accounts Management As outlined in our User Agreement, PayPal® will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements.
Manage your expenses via Email, SMS, iPhone, Twitter, Voice (Call and say your expense), IM (Yahoo, AIM, MSN), or Web.
Comments(0)